货币对之间的相对价格不断改变(上涨或下跌)。例如,当我们说美元贬值时意思其实并不清楚,因为美元可以对澳元升值的同时能对欧元贬值。货币总是成对交易。因为货币的报价需用另一种货币表示,货币符号可以用斜杠(/)分开,写成下面的样式:EUR/USD (欧元/美元)。


货币对的价格反映了对内货币之间的相对价格比率。例如,货币对EUR/USD的价格显示了用多少美元可以买入1欧元。对内的第一种货币是基准货币,第二种是标价货币。例子中的欧元就是一种主要的基准货币。基础的货币对包括:


符号 名称 别名
EUR/USD 欧元兑美元 欧元
USD/JPY 美元对日元 日元
GBP/USD 英镑兑美元 Sterling或Cable
USD/CHF 美元对瑞士法郎 Swissy
AUD/USD 澳大利亚元兑美元 Aussie
USD/CAD 美元兑加拿大元 Loonie
NZD/USD 新西兰元兑美元 Kiwi

所谓的主要货币对的交易量占外汇市场交易的75%,包括EUR/USD、GBP/USD、USD/CHF和USD/JPY。如您所见,美元出现在这里所有的货币对中;因此,如果一个货币对包含美元,就可以看作是一种主要货币对。不包含美元的货币对称为交叉货币对,或交叉汇率。下面是交易最活跃的交叉货币对:


符号 名称
EUR/CHF 欧元兑瑞士法郎
EUR/GBP 欧元兑英镑
EUR/JPY 欧元兑日元
GBP/JPY 英镑兑日圆
AUD/JPY 澳元兑日圆
NZD/JPY 新西兰元兑日元



英镑/美元。
1992年黑色星期三
英镑/美元。
1992年黑色星期三
让我们来看一看该货币对历史上最突出的事件。
外汇市场历史上最值得注意的变动之一是英镑在1992年九月16日上演的。那一天被称为黑色星期三,当时英镑创下了最大的跌幅。受影响最大的是GBP/DEM(英镑兑德国马克)及GBP/USD(英镑兑美元)货币对。
1992年十一月至十二月期间英镑兑美元的跌幅达到了25%(GBP/USD从2.01跌至1.51)。

这次“英镑危机”的主要原因据称是英国加入了固定汇率回廊的欧洲货币系统、当时通过的议会选举、工业产出减少、英格兰银行保持与德国马克平价的努力、以及投资者大举外流。与此同时,因为利润丰厚,德国货币市场变得比英国市场更有吸引力。总而言之,投机者们蜂拥抛售英镑换取德国马克和美元。货币危机的后果随之显现:利率迅速从10%上涨到15%,英国政府不得不让英镑贬值并且脱离欧洲货币系统。结果,英镑回归浮动汇率。



美元/日元。
1997年亚洲金融危机
美元/日元。
1997年亚洲金融危机
另一个让人兴致勃勃的货币对是美元兑日元(USD/JPY)货币对。美元兑日元是继EUR/USD和GBP/USD之后交易量第三高的货币对。它在亚洲时段的交易最活跃。该货币对的变动通常很平滑,USD/JPY货币对对金融市场上的风险增加反应迅速。

从80年代中期开始日元兑美元的汇率开始积极上涨。在90年代早期日本活跃的经济发展转为停顿,失业率增加,收入、工资和该国民众的生活水平下降。

并且这也导致了从1991年初开始日本大量的金融机构破产。结果东京证券交易所市场崩溃,日元贬值,之后新一波的制造业公司破产开始。USD/JPY货币对在1995年创下79.80的历史低点。

1997-1998年开始的亚洲金融危机导致了日元的崩溃。日元美元货币对从115日元/美元跌至150日元/美元。

全球经济危机几乎触及了人类活动的全部领域。外汇市场也不例外。虽然外汇市场参与者(央行、商业银行、投资银行、经纪商和交易商、养老金、保险公司和贸易公司)立场不同,但外汇市场继续成功地发挥了作用,比之前更加稳定、更有利可图。

金融危机已经导致了世界各货币价值的显著变化。在危机期间日元几乎对其他所有货币走强。无论是兑美元还是欧元,日元都被证明是交易者们最可靠的货币工具。日元走强的原因之一是交易者们需要找到一个货币波动的避难所。其他的投机者们用拒绝套利交易来解释日元升值。


货币对 危机前的价值(2008年8月) 危机后的价值(2010年1月) 变动百分比(%)
USD/JPY 110.38 89.97 -18.5
GBP/JPY 213.50 142.79 -33.22
EUR/JPY 168.48 122.16 -27.5

从表中我们看到日元兑美元升值超过18%,对欧元是27.5%,对英镑为33%。在最坚挺的货币中美元占居第四位。看起来似乎很奇怪,无惧美国发展中的衰退、国家金融体系的失败、保尔森经济恢复计划7500亿美元的花费和总值数百亿美元并且持续增长的外债;美元仍然是世界上最可靠的货币。投资者们仍然依赖于它。下表显示的是兑美元货币牌价的变动。


货币对 危机前的价值(2008年8月) 危机后的价值(2010年1月) 变动百分比(%)
EUR/USD 1.5619 1.4328 -8.3
USD/CHF 1.0820 1.0555 -2.5
GBP/USD 1.9774 1.5990 -19.2

从上面的数据可以看到美元对欧元升值8.3%,对英镑升值了19.2%。日元和瑞士法郎之间的变动相对固定,前者兑美元变动了18.5%,后者变动了2.5%。

在坚挺的货币中欧元排名第12位。负面因素有:最大的欧元区国家(德国、法国和意大利)的GDP和产出下滑,对欧盟衰退的担心,生产停滞的报告,通货膨胀和欧盟成员国的巨额外债,尤其是葡萄牙、爱尔兰、西班牙和希腊。对后者而言,还要面临欧元区衰退的威胁。投资者对更加安全的货币(美元和日元)的偏爱导致了欧元的贬值。欧元的价格变动在下表中给出:


货币对 危机前的价值(2008年8月) 危机后的价值(2010年1月) 变动百分比(%)
EUR/CHF 1.6352 1.4747 -8.8
EUR/GBP 0.7900 0.8991 13.8
EUR/AUD 1.6974 1.5658 -7.7

在金融危机期间欧元相对下列主要货币走弱:对美元贬值8.3%,对日元27.5%,瑞士法郎8.8%,以及对澳元贬值7.7%。综上所述,我们可以说外汇市场与证券市场和其他商业活动不同:它没有受到全球经济危机的影响,相反,还从中受益了。

许多货币市场的参与者在危机期间都有收获,而且收益颇丰。正因为如此,许多人在外汇市场看到了逃离危机的希望。就像中国人常说的:危机带来经济动荡和社会紧张,但也是投资和解决众多问题的好机会。


返回文章列表
开设账户
开设账户
存款
存款
现在无法通话?
提出您的问题,用 在线帮助.

A price of one currency versus another is constantly changing (rising or falling). For example, if we say that the US dollar is decreasing, it is not clear, as the US dollar can rise versus the Australian dollar and fall against the euro. Currencies are always traded in pairs. As currencies are quoted one versus another, the names of the currencies can be divided with a slash (/) and are written in the following way: EUR/USD.


Currency pairs correspond to the ratio of currency prices making up the pair. For example, the price of the EUR/USD pair shows how many dollars you can buy for 1 euro. The first currency in the pair is a base currency and the second one is the currency of quoting or quote currency. The euro is a base currency versus other major world currencies. There are the following base currency pairs:


Symbol Name Colloquial Phrase
EUR/USD Euro, US dollar Euro
USD/JPY US dollar, yen Yen
GBP/USD pound, dollar Sterling or Cable
USD/CHF US dollar, franc Swissy
AUD/USD Australian dollar, US dollar Aussie
USD/CAD US dollar, Canadian dollar Loonie
NZD/USD New Zealand dollar, US dollar Kiwi

There are so-called majors, for which around 75% of all market operations on Forex are held: the EUR/USD, GBP/USD, USD/CHF, and USD/JPY. As we see, the US dollar is represented in all currency pairs, thus, if a currency pair contains the US dollar, this pair is considered as a major currency pair. Pairs which do not include the US dollar are called cross currency pairs, or cross rates. The following cross rates are the most actively traded:


Symbol Name
EUR/CHF euro-franc
EUR/GBP euro-sterling
EUR/JPY euro-yen
GBP/JPY sterling-yen
AUD/JPY aussie-yen
NZD/JPY kiwi-yen



GBP/USD.
Black Wednesday 1992
GBP/USD.
Black Wednesday 1992
Thus, let us consider the most outstanding events in the history of the currency pairs.
One of the most interesting movements in Forex market history was shown by the British pound in autumn 1992, on September 16. That day is known as Black Wednesday with the British posting its biggest fall. It was mostly seen in the GBP/DEM (British pound vs Deutschemark) and the GBP/USD (British pound vs US dollar)currency pairs.
The fall of the British pound against the US dollar in the period from November to December 1992 constituted 25% (from 2.01 to 1.51 GBP/USD).

The general reasons for this "sterling crisis" are said to be the participation of Great Britain in the European currency system with fixed exchange rate corridors; recently passed parliamentary elections; a reduction of industrial output; the Bank of England efforts to hold the parity rate for the Deutschemark, as well as dramatic outflow of investors. At the same time, due to a profitability slant the German currency market became more attractive than the English one. All in all, the speculators were rushing to sell the pounds for the Deutschemarks and for the US dollars. Consequences of the currency crisis were as follows: a sharp increase of the interest rate from 10% to 15%, the British Government had to accept pound devaluation and to secede from the European Monetary System. As a result, the pound returned to a floating exchange rate.



USD/JPY.
1997 Asian financial crisis
USD/JPY.
1997 Asian financial crisis
Another intriguing currency pair is US dollar vs Japanese yen (USD/JPY). The US dollar and Japanese yen is third on the list of most traded currency pairs after the EUR/USD and GBP/USD. It is traded most actively during sessions in Asia. Movements of this pair are usually smooth; the USD/JPY pair quickly reacts to the risk peaking of financial markets.

From the mid 80-es yen ratings started rising actively versus the US dollar. In early 90-es a lively economic development turned into a standstill in Japan, the unemployment increased; earnings and wages slided as well as living standards of the country population.

And from the beginning of 1991, this caused bankruptcies of numerous financial organizations in Japan. As a consequence, the quotes on Tokyo Stock Exchange collapsed, yen devaluation took place, thereafter, a new wave of bankruptcies among manufacturing companies began. In 1995 a historical low of the USD/JPY pair was recorded at -79.80.

This started in 1997-1998 Asian crisis led to the yen crash. It resulted in a tumble of yen-US dollar pair from 115 yens per one US dollar to 150.

The global economic crisis touched almost all fields of human activities. Forex currency market was no exception. Though, Forex participants (central banks, commercial banks, investment banks, brokers and dealers, pension funds, insurance companies and transnational companies) were in a difficult position, Forex market continues to function successfully, it is stable and profitable as never before.

The financial crisis has led to drastic changes of the world's currencies values. During the crisis, the yen strengthened most of all against all other currencies. Neither the US dollar, nor the euro, but the yen proved to be the most reliable currency instrument for traders. One of reasons for such strengthening can be that the traders needed to find a sanctuary amid a monetary chaos. Other specialists explained the uprise of yen rates by refusing from carry trade deals. Thus, below there are currency changes of the major yen pairs.


The currency pair Value before the crisis (08/2008) Value after the crisis (01/2010) Change in %
USD/JPY 110.38 89.97 -18.5
GBP/JPY 213.50 142.79 -33.22
EUR/JPY 168.48 122.16 -27.5

From the table we see that yen added over 18% versus US dollar, 27.5% - against euro and 33% - versus pound. Among the most strengthened currencies the US dollar took the fourth place. Strange as it may seem, US dollar remains the most reliable currency in the world, irrespective of the advancing recession in the USA, a fall of the country's financial system, spending of $750 billion on Paulson's plan of economic recovery and the constantly growing foreign debt amounting to dozens of billions USD. Investors still rely on it. Below there is a table of currency rate changes versus the Greenback.


The currency pair Value before the crisis (08/2008) Value after the crisis (01/2010) Change in %
EUR/USD 1.5619 1.4328 -8.3
USD/CHF 1.0820 1.0555 -2.5
GBP/USD 1.9774 1.5990 -19.2

From the data above it can be seen that US dollar gained 8.3% against euro and 19.2% versus pound. Relatively yen and franc a fall was fixed. In the first case, by 18.5%, the second - by 2.5%.

Among the strengthened currencies euro took the 12th position. Negative factors were: lowering of GDP and production of the largest Eurozone countries (Germany, France and Italy), fears about recession in the EU, reports about production stagnation, inflation and huge foreign debts of EU members, in particular Portugal, Ireland, Spain and Greece. As for the latter, there is a threat of its secession from the Eurozone. The fall of euro was provoked by investors refusal from this currency in favor of safer currencies (the US dollar and the yen). The table of currency rates change versus euro is given below:


The currency pair Value before the crisis (08/2008) Value after the crisis (01/2010) Change in %
EUR/CHF 1.6352 1.4747 -8.8
EUR/GBP 0.7900 0.8991 13.8
EUR/AUD 1.6974 1.5658 -7.7

During the financial crisis the euro had weakened against the following major currencies: the US dollar - by 8.3%, the yen - by 27.5%, the franc -by 8.8% and the Aussie - by 7.7%. From all stated above, we can say that Forex market, unlike the stock and other business activities did not suffer after the global economic crisis, on the contrary, it benefited.

Many currency market participants gained, their crisis period yield rate turned to be fabulous. In such situation, many people see an escape from crisis exactly in Forex. As they often say in China: a crisis involves not only perturbations in the economy and social strain, but it is also a favourable time for investments and for numerous problems solving.


Back to the list of articles
Open account
Open account
Make a deposit
Make a deposit
Can't speak right now?
Ask your question in the chat.